MendelStation

The first revision of MendelStation, as of September 2006, was as follows.

An Intel Core2Duo E6600 B2 @ 2.4GHz.
An Asus P5W DH Deluxe motherboard based on an Intel 975 northbridge.
2 RAM modules of 1024 MB DDR2 in Dual Channel @ 333.4 MHz (5-6-6-18).
An a great nVidia GeForce 7900GT with 256Megs of ram!

Second revision doubled to amount of RAM to an astonishing 4096 megabytes, running at the same speed.
And an upgrade of the nVidia towards a new ATI 4870 with 1 GB of GDDR5 RAM.
My cpu was also a bit overclocked towards 3GHz, just to follow my new gpu a bit ๐Ÿ˜€

CPUZ and GPUZ

Anyway, that’s not the story of this blogpost ๐Ÿ˜Ž

What I wanted to tell you guys, was that a computer that’s almost 5 years old, is still doing PERFECTLY ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Sometimes, when you see the newest Intel’s Sandy Bridges passing by, I’m jealous. But why? No idea. My current desktop is still blazing fast, still running games as BulletStorm on full settings, Crysis2 on high and shizzle… From shutdown to operative Windows in less then 2 minutes. Responsive, even with 20 tabs in firefox. Running 120+ processes at the same time. And so on…

The need of more performance is 100% pure marketing ๐Ÿ˜€

Fuck you marketing companies!!!

(for now…)

2 reacties
  1. Mijn pc’tje thuis ik een Core 2 Duo E2300 met 2Gb geheugen en een ATI 5770 en ook dat ouw knarretje draait lekker vlot alle games.

    Maarrrr … op ’t werk heb ik nu een SSD en geloof mij, opstarten in 15 seconden is VET !
    En 8Gb geheugen is ook wel nice, maar idd, ik denk dat die Core i5 niet veel meer gaat doen dan mijn E2300.

  2. awel, inderdaad. Kheb in onze pc beneje nen amd 3-core steke van 50โ‚ฌ ofzo. Da ding VLIEGT 8)

    Mjah, 8gig geheugen heb ik zo drec precies ni nodig. Gij wel? Misschien voor grote projecten in netbeans ofzo?

    SSD moet naar’t schijnt idd wel lekker zijn. Da is idd nog de grootsten bottleneck in mennen huidige computer… Da schaf ik misschien nog wel eens aan in de nabije toekomst ๐Ÿ˜†

    Maar kvind, qua cpu-power, welk program heeft da nodig? Firefox ni, word ook ni, outlook ook ni… Alleen als ge rekenintensieve dingen doet (wss). ๐Ÿ˜†

    Maar 99% van de bevolking heeft toch nen overkill me nen i5 :-p
    Mijn pa heeft nen i5 laptop, maar de citrix waarem op moet werke is zoooo belachelijk traag dattem beter nen atom zou hebbe ๐Ÿ˜›
    Of beter, iets arm-based ๐Ÿ˜†

Geef een reactie

