Not so random

Random generators suck…
Apparently none can make a good one…

My car (bmw), my previous car (opel), my ipod, itunes, windows phone, youtube, …

After a song, always the same “random” song follows..
It’s kind of strange…
If you let me create a random() function, I would include the time somehow.
At least in a car you can create some mathematical function, which divided by the current amount of minutes, will give you something pseudo random, right?
At least random enough to not always let a specific song be the next one at another certain song?

dilbert

Random.org gives you the real analysis of how true randomness can be achieved.

As you can see on the random.org page mentioned above, even php on windows rand() sucks! Spot the “pattern” in the picture below!
According to Bo Allen php performs better on Linux… Shame on you Microsoft! 😛

php’s rand() function on windows!

 

Anyway, I don’t want to know the next song, when I enable “shuffle” in my audio player…

Microsoft, BMW, Apple, please fix it!

2 reacties

Geef een reactie

