Samsung Omnia 7 Maxed out!

So, the first time I bricked a phone…
But at least I managed to fix it 🙂

And put some new software on it!

I’m still holding up with my two (!!!) years old mobile phone (also a record!).
A first gen WP, “fixed” with MAGLDR, running some weird beta version of the WP 7.8 update (the one with the image resize bug). My bluetooth wasn’t working. My storage was almost complete full.

Time had come for a fresh install 🙂

After some browsing at xda, I chose this rom (latest build): dev_build8862_1.5 .

Installing wmdc, and the required samsung usb drivers didn’t really work on my Windows 8 machine…
DFT installer did find the phone, but crashed after a while with error “[Info]: USBWorkDWPI.cpp (423)”
Nevertheless, I tried to flash…

I should not have done that…

After some unfortunate try-outs, I was left with a device that only said “Samsung Omnia 7”

18766_large_samsung-omnia-7_1

Luckily, a Windows 7 computer was not far away.
After reinstalling wmdc, samsung drivers and zune, the DFT tools where able to find my Omnia 7.

I tried to reinstall the MAGLD boot loader. And the installer actually finished with “success”.

But nothing happened…
Probably MAGLDR makes use of some system files for it’s usb connection? (not sure)
And the entire OS was corrupted, so nothing from the custom bootloader worked…

I decided to download a genuine Samsung firmware, flash it to the phone, and restart the entire process on the W7 computer.

pic

A random samsung rom was flashed (just google one), MAGLDR was reinstalled, the previously mentioned firmware was flashed. And on top of this, from the same author as the rom, automode provided me for an radio firmware update for my Omnia7! Jeej!

So, my phone was up and running again with the newest rom on the market and its firmware flashed to the top!

But in the end, my bluetooth still doesn’t work 😦

Geef een reactie

