HP Microserver Gen8

Last month, my 6 years old desktop somewhat crashed…
And I found out my 5 years old Lacie NAS wasn’t backing-up all my data… It seems it couldn’t handle my music folder structure (actually itunes’ folder structure) of artist\album\trackname or something. Anyway, the folder structure stopped somewhere in half of the letter A… The rest just wasn’t there…

So my backup was f**ked…
I sincerely hate backups! (true story!)

Remember kids, a backup is only as good as one you already used!

So, I needed new stuff to hold my important data!
Peeeeerfect excuse! πŸ˜›

So, after my last post (of 2 years ago) about building a home-server, I just went for the real dea (and the quick and easy solution) l: an HP Gen8 Microserver

c03760147

http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/proliant-servers/product-detail.html?oid=5379860

It comes in all kind of configurations, but I went for the cheapest: with an Intel G1610T and only 2GB of ram…

Storage is what it’s all about, and some nice 3TB WD Red hard drives were added to the setup πŸ™‚

It appears the thing is pretty selective on its RAM, it only takes Unregistered ECC DDR3 RAM.
After looking around I went for the HP Kingston 684035-001 – 8GB 2Rx8 PC3-12800E-11 Kit DIMM 8GB PC3-12800E 512Mx8, which works just perfect.
It’s running with 10GB of ram at this very moment. πŸ™‚

So, an x86-compatible machine with 10GB of ram?
Good to start with, no? =)

It’s currently running Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials with Hyper-V enabled.
You’ll need the WindowsServer2008R2 Raid Driver found on the site from HP. I think there is an update available now (but I used the 2008 nevertheless)
Also, Hyper-V has some serious issues with the Broadcom NIC’s on the motherboard… Disable virtual machine queues (VMQ) or you’re doomed!
It has Microsoft’s SSTP VPN Services running. (Although Windows Phone has no support for this 😦 )
Webdav enabled.
Maybe in the future OwnCloud, if I find some time πŸ™‚
Added Microsoft’s media pack for Server 2012 Essentials which enables DLNA streaming over internet.

A cool feature of Server Essentials, and it’s predecessor SBS already had, is the web interface.
Not very useful though!
I’m considering replacing the media library by subsonic or something, or even serviio’s web interface

We’ll see!

logininterface

3 reacties

Geef een reactie

